RSS

Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart A Little

14 Feb

Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart A Little
My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult I know this book gets a lot of flack for being emotionally maniputive, but it honestly worked for me. I loved it, and it broke my heart.

Rilla of Ingleside – Lucy Maud Montgomery I have to warn Lars whenever I’m reading this so he knows not to worry if (when!) I start crying.

The Time-Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger I never fully realized how tragic the book actually is until I watched the movie together with somebody who hadn’t read the book. I still love it though.

The Other Side of Dawn – John Marsden The final book in the “Tomorrow” series. I can’t remember when I’ve last sobbed this hard over a book. All Ellie and her friends have to go through… Horrifying!

Flowers in the Attic – Virginia Andrews This book was a trainwreck! I was horrified but couldn’t look away. One of the few books that broke my heart and didn’t put it back together again.

The Last Battle – C.S. Lewis Okay, this is heartbreak of a very different kind, but this description of Heaven is the most beautiful I’ve ever read, The term is over, the holidays have begun. The dream is ended, this is the morning.. Amen!

New Moon – Stephenie Meyer Those four pages with just “November”, “December”, “January” and “February” written on them? Shivers down my spine every time. Stephenie Meyer could not have found a more poignant way to describe exactly how those four months were for Bella. Sometimes less really is more. Elaborating would have made it too heavy-handed. I know Stephenie Meyer isn’t the best author, but those four words show better writing skills than I’ve seen almost anywhere else.

Dragonfly in Amber – Diana Gabaldon All the Outlander books are heartbreaking in some way, but this one more than most. Jamie and Claire are such an awesome couple!

If I Stay – Gayle Forman One of the few books where the heartbreak wasn’t contained to just a couple of chapters, but was spread out throughout the book. An amazing book, but so very, very sad.

Hate List – Jennifer Brown A different kind of heartbreak than most of the books listed above. This shows what can make a person crack, and the repercussions not only to the obvious victims, but also to people thought on his side.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Reading

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
