RSS

Prologue

01 Nov

Brainstorming for names for blogs has never been one of my strengths. When I started this blog, all I really knew was that I wanted it to be related to reading in some way. Reading has always been my largest passion and my top priority hobby, and I wanted that to be featured somehow in the title.

For once I got lucky though – out of the blue, “Reading Bliss” popped into my head, and I knew I had found a winner. For me reading is bliss, and that’s all there is to it.

Reading is a part of life to me – I can’t remember when I last let an entire day go by without spending at least 10-15 minutes of it reading. I don’t think it has happened within the last 10 years at least. Most days, it’s closer to 2-3 hours.

I read to relax, I read to recharge, I read to relate to people, I read to broaden my horizons. Mostly though, I read to have fun. If I don’t enjoy a book, I have no qualms putting it down unfinished. I’ll give it a fair chance – 50-100 pages depending on the size of the book – but if I find that reading is a chore rather than a comfort, then I know it’s time to move on to another book. I gave up on reading books because I had to when I left school.

That’s not to say I don’t still occasionally read to educate myself, but as I’ve found as I’ve gotten older non-fictional books (and even, *gasp*, so-called ‘educational’ books) don’t have to be boring, and as long as they’re well written, I can get just as much enjoyment out of a memoir or an essay collection as out of the most exhilarating fantasy novel.

I hope to post here once a month – sometimes more, hopefully seldom less – sharing with you my thoughts on reading, and all the ways that technology has influenced it through apps, websites, and gadgets. Hope you’ll want to read along.

Maria

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in Reading

 

Leave a Reply

 
